Forgotten Passion

escaflowneI was sorting my things out last night, tidying up my stuff since my family’s moving to a new house this weekend, and found some old art works I did several years ago. I felt sad seeing some of them are almost ruined, the colors are fading. I was able to salvage a few of them, though, and took pictures.

no one’s face

There was a time when I got so obsessed with sketching faces. Just the face, not the whole head. The finished piece usually looks like these–with a sad expression. Maybe I was lonely at that time.

I used to paint and do sketches. I did dream of creating my own masterpieces in the past. Yet, in the course of my life, I’ve put it aside and forgotten the passion. Or maybe, the passion has died.

landscape Landscape is one of my favorite themes. I painted this piece from a picture I saw.

belle & the beast Once in my life, I liked Beauty and the Beast so much, hence this painting. And I got addicted to animé also🙂 (inspiration of the picture at the beginning of this article are the main characters in Vision of Escaflowne)

Now, I’m not sure anymore if I’d be able to do anything similar to these works again. The artist hand has turned numb. It doesn’t recognize the brushes and pens it used to love so much. Her eyes have become mere ordinary spectator.😦

7 Responses to Forgotten Passion

  1. Celestine ay nagsabing:

    if your hands are numbed now, you just have to warm it up. and if it no longer recognizes those pens and brushes you must familiarize them with it. pick it up and give us something to admire once again…

  2. Armine Rhea ay nagsabing:

    n0, the hand didn’t turn numb, avi. instead, the blasted instruments did bec0me dumb.

    the same happens t0 me every n0w and then. we are artists — just like Daffy wh0 c0uldn’t lay a g0lden egg in the presence 0f s0meb0dy. we’re 0verexp0sed t0 life. what is gained in life is l0st t0 art, said 0ur Wilde tita.😀

    in any case, avi, pls, i repeat: PLEASE — d0 n0t cut y0ur ear!!!

  3. Avi ay nagsabing:

    i never wanted to forget i once dreamed of creating my own framed masterpiece, yet it slipped off my mind somehow. i still do want to paint, regain the ability if i still could. but i need inspiration.

  4. camilla ay nagsabing:

    You need inspiration. You bet you do! Everyone does.
    So next time you meet it, seize it and don’t let it go. Eventhough it’s just a possibility and seemingly far-fetched, give it a chance. Do not abort it; maybe next Chance will have the right to birth.

  5. camilla ay nagsabing:

    … if you know what i’m talking about. (well, i don’t!)

    … what the hell am i talking about??? HAHA!

  6. raft3r ay nagsabing:

    i don’t think so
    ang sabi ng iba it’s like riding a bike daw, e
    di mo makakalimutan

    buti ka pa
    maming talents
    ako ni isa wala
    hehe

    Salve: hay, really hope so, raft3r. gusto ko talagang mag-sketch uli.

  7. tet ay nagsabing:

    ano na pa bang hindi mo alam, kasi parang hindi na ko masyado nagugulat. Siguro ang ikakagulat ko na lang eh, yun hindi mo pa alam.GRABE DAMI TALENTS,SKILLS ANO PA B? GIFTED SOBRA

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

